The book I’m currently reading

Hello, I haven’t been on here for a bit but i’m alive! i’ve actually just returned from a short trip to Paris (took lots of pictures that i’m going to share), i’m back to work, and i’m also working on another project on the side (there’s a post coming up about it).

As a quick update, i just wanted to share with you the book that i’ve been reading the past few weeks. I love reading and i have so.many.books. piled at my place waiting for me to read them. i just keep buying and buying and i’m a firm believer that books are one of the greatest things to spend money on 💗 I got Guapa by Saleem Haddad I’d say like 2 weeks ago maybe, and so far i’ve read more than half of it. The past year, I’ve started reading only when i’m travelling – on the train to work, or for instance when i went to Paris, on a plane, in a car etc. i don’t know why but i can’t just lay in my bed and read… it’s not the same.

As much as I tried not to mention anything specific, bare in mind that i’ll be talking about the story of the book, so if you’re planning to read it and hate spoilers, and don’t want to risk it, stop reading here x

So this book is about something that i still think is a bit taboo to talk about, and this is homosexuality in Islam. Since i’m neither gay, nor Muslim i can’t really relate to the story and say what’s true and what isn’t, but i can definitely say the book is quite eye-opening. It just shows us a different side of this world; a side that some of us choose to deny and/or ignore, but it’s true nevertheless – there are many gay people who also happen to be Muslim. Some of my Muslim friends have told me, and i’ve also seen it on social media that the two (homosexuality and Islam) are mutually exclusive. But I guess for some people this is everyday life, it’s their reality, and i think it’s quite harsh to deny somebody’s reality.

The book is kind of easy to read. I say ‘kind of’ because on one side it’s easy to read because the story flows very easily and where there’s no dialogue, the descriptions are not dry and boring. On the other side, if you’re truly into the book, you get to experience the main character’s troubles – that is not easy. Him, feeling confused and lost and lonely because he has no one to turn to etc. definitely won’t make you feel happy but as i said it’s eye-opening. it shows you what some people out there get to experience.

I still haven’t finished the story but I’m sure there’ll either be a happy ending or a great lesson learnt, so I’m excited to keep reading. I definitely do recommend it if you feel like experiencing someone else’s life, which would potentially broaden your horizons.

I’ll update you once i’ve finished the book to let you know if i’m happy with the ending.

41f57129-1abf-45dd-80e5-92b675d27b33.jpg
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Leave a Reply

